Monday, October 24, 2016

[Blog Tour] The Bound by K.A. Linda



Cyrene Strohm is a Queen’s Affiliate, a high-ranking official of the court of Byern, with power and privilege to spare. But she’s also a keeper of dangerous secrets: like the fact that she holds the heart of the King, and that she possesses magic in a world where magic no longer exists. Determined to discover what this means and how to use her newfound abilities, Cyrene sets off for the distant land of Eleysia. An island nation where Affiliates are strictly forbidden from entering. But the journey is perilous, and the destination may mean utter ruin, as Cyrene comes to learn that everything she’s been told her whole life – about her court, her homeland, and even herself—are bound in a beautiful lie.      

AmazoniBooksKobo Goodreads

My Thoughts

The Affiliate (Book 1)

I love going into books blind. I never read the blurbs because sometimes they reveal too much and I just like to jump in. So that is what I did with The Affiliate. At first it was hard to follow because it was too much information at once and too many characters that I couldn’t keep up. I kept getting confused and I didn’t like that but as I kept reading more things started to make sense. That is when I started to love it. The Affiliate is different from other books and it is intriguing. It is full of twists and turns.

Cyrene has quickly become one of my favorite heroines. She is different but she is the epitome of strength and bravery. She handles situations as they come but with a level of expertise. She is literally shaping her destiny. She takes command and doesn’t stop. Following her journey has been one of my favorite things.

The boys in this book are crazy! We have two important characters. They are both Royalty, they are brothers, and they like the same girl. It gets a little intense and I love that. So much is happening at once. So much tension, lust, want, and jealousy.

The Affiliate is not a normal romance book. I like that it not only focuses a lot on Cyrene but it also doesn’t make love the most important thing. Which is kind of crazy. I love when books are all about love but this one worked so well. I am so glad I read this! I am so excited. As soon as I finished this one I was off to read The Bound.

The Bound (Book 2)

The Bound is a whirlwind journey that is filled with so much action and craziness that I was hooked to this book. I couldn’t put it down because as I read I was invested in Cyrene and her mission. I was glued to the book trying to solve and predict the future for these characters. I was both scared and excited as to what it would bring. K.A. Linde takes us on a voyage that is not what I expected. I didn’t see this book going in this direction but I am so glad with what I got.

Cyrene is clever than ever and she is much stronger. She is learning so many things in this book and that makes me love her even more. Before she was more naïve and now she is growing. That is one of my favorite things about her. Now she has an open mind and she sees the world for what it really is.

We are also introduced to more new characters in The Bound! I loved them! It added so much to the story. I will not talk about them because I feel like it is to spoilery. So all you have to know is to expect new and better characters than ever before. There is a lot more I wish I could talk about but I can’t. Just know that this book will have you flipping the pages, wanting to read faster, just to know what is going to happen.

The Bound was really good but I NEED the next book. So much happened and I have so many unanswered questions. I really loved this book and I cannot wait for the next one. K.A. Linde really outdid herself with The Bound. It had me gripping my kindle and gasping out loud.


 Staggering down the hallway, she didn’t even look up when she heard her name. “Hmm?” she asked. “Cyrene, there you are!” Someone grabbed her shoulders, and she tipped her head to look up into the most beautiful face. She smiled and felt a renewed burst of energy flow through her. “Hey,” she whispered. “Hey,” he said, threading his fingers through hers. A shiver ran up her back. He glanced around the empty hallway and then tugged her away from the main corridors. She turned a corner, and he pressed her back into a darkened alcove. His mouth was only inches from hers. Her exhaustion was wearing off from the excitement of being with him. “I was really worried about you,” he breathed. “You don’t have to worry about me,” she said, trapped in his gaze. She teetered on her tiptoes and nearly brushed their lips together. Her heart was racing ahead of her. This felt almost better than reaching for her magic. Definitely better than moving one drop of water at a time all day. “You’re wrong.” Then, he softly dropped his mouth down on hers. His lips were tender and slow as they caressed hers. “I will always worry for your safety.” Cyrene’s cheeks heated, and she sighed, leaning back against the hard stone of the alcove. “I didn’t mean to worry you.” His hands pushed up through her hair and tilted her head back up to look at him. She closed her eyes and sighed. She was so tired, and just the feel of his fingers was lulling her to sleep. “That feels good.” His mouth found hers, and despite her exhaustion, she pushed back against his lips with more force. She refused to let the fact that she was tired get in the way of her time with him. “Whoa,” he said, pulling back from her. He rested his forehead against hers, and she could tell he was breathing heavily. “As much as I want this, and I do, I want to make sure you’re okay. This didn’t scare you away?” She shook her head. “This, most certainly, does not scare me.” Then, she kissed him again for good measure. He laughed. “Good. Because I’ve been wanting to kiss you since I first met you.” “You have not!” she insisted. “Are you kidding? A gorgeous, feisty woman who wasn’t afraid to put me in my place the first time she met me? I mostly certainly have.”


The Affiliate: Book 1 "With rich romance and twisty political intrigue, THE AFFILIATE is a breakneck fantasy ride that's perfect for fans of THE SELECTION or THRONE OF GLASS." --Susan Dennard, NYT bestselling author of TRUTHWITCH On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm's lifelong plans come to fruition when she's chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland--an Affiliate to the Queen. Or so she thinks. When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene's position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have... King Edric himself. Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom. Find out in this first book in USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde's new Ascension series. Great for fans of Game of Thrones, Tudors, and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.   ✦ AmazoniBooks B&NKobo  


About K.A. Linde
K.A. Linde grew up as a military brat and created fantastical stories based off of her love for Disney movies, fairy tales, and Star Wars. In her spare time, she is an avid traveler, loves reading young adult novels, and dancing. Additionally, K.A. has written more than a dozen adult novels and is a USA Today bestselling author. She lives in Lubbock, TX with her husband and two super adorable puppies. K.A. Linde loves to hear from her readers! You can contact her at or visit her online at one of the following sites: @authorkalinde    

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...